The Importance of Touch

I love hugs from friends and family.  There is something very comforting and healing that comes with positive touch.  Having endorphins released, decreasing stress and anxiety.  Connecting with others in a physical way.

Today’s society makes it difficult to express affection to others.  American’s typically have a huge personal bubble, and if you aren’t romantically involved, your chances of affection decrease.  I am very aware that not all American’s are like this, but I have come across this time and time again.

This can be acutely noticeable if I don’t have regular physical contact.  I start feeling anxious and disconnected.  Sometimes I have a hard time asking for affection, but I am fortunate that I have people in my life that I can reach out to.  It is incredibly healing to be touched by those that love you.

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

Leave a comment