Consistency in Friendships

I’ve been noticing a lack of consistency in friendships lately.  I see people on a regular basis, but I don’t always see the same people on a regular basis.  I feel like I spend more time catching up with people instead of sharing life with them.  I do have regular community, but the people in that community rotate in and out, so it’s not consistent who I will see see week in and week out.  Or it’s a large group of people, and I have a difficult time of connecting with all of the noise.

The older that I have gotten, the harder it is to maintain consistency in these friendships as I don’t have any roommates, and I’m single, so trying to have a few consistent people in my life has been a huge challenge.  Having those roots really does help me to be able to reach out to others and grow personally.  It’s not like how it was in college with easy access to friendships and space to develop them.

Honestly, I’m not sure how to develop this consistency.  I know that I can be intentional on my end, but I know that can be a tiring process if I am am the one that does most or all of the initiation.  Friendships are hard as adults, and sometimes you have to buckle down and keep at it.

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

Leave a Reply

