Fighting Fear

While I was getting ready to post on my blog after a long hiatus, I was feeling nervous about putting myself out there for everyone to see.  You know that feeling when you post something on Facebook and hoping that you get comments and “likes” and nobody says anything?  I’m very bad at self-promotion, especially when it involves things from my head and heart.  But there is a fear that pops up that no one will read what I’ve written, regardless if I know it’s not true.

That fear can be crippling.  There is a point where you need to learn to step out of the shadows and learn how to not have fear rule your life.  To have the courage to lean in and be open with others.  Even if it scares the shit out of you.

A couple of years ago, I read a book by Brené Brown called Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead.  Below is the Ted Talk that she gave.  It’s fantastic.

The book talks about how when we learn to step into that fear, the fear of not being known, and become vulnerable, that is when we can step out of that fear.  Once we embrace the messiness, the easier it is to step out of the shadows.  It’s not easy, and is a lifelong process.  I know that I’m still learning and I still have to remind myself that I’m worthy to be known.  Some days are definitely better than others, but ultimately I know that I am worthy to be known.

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

1 thought on “Fighting Fear”

  1. You are worth knowing! I have loved knowing you, and even though distance has stretched our conversations thinner, I still want to know you more. Keep writing and leaning into that fear, my friend.

Leave a Reply

