Imago Dei

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to help organize and attend a retreat for our post-college/pre-family ministry at my church.  It was truly a retreat.  Most of the time, people say “retreat” and there is so much stuff jam-packed into the weekend, that you have to come home to relax.  I’m definitely at the age where I benefit from digging into things on my own.  Being inundated with all sorts of good information isn’t beneficial when I don’t take time to process it.

The theme of the weekend was “Imago Dei” which translates into “Image of God”.  How am I a reflection of God?  Do I see myself as God sees me?  How does God see me?  I dug deep and hard in my mind and heart.  Shed many tears, and cried out to God.  Reflecting on a lot of things.

I have a tendency of worrying about what everyone else thinks of me, but not what God thinks.  A couple of days before the retreat, I had coffee with a good friend of mine, and in our conversation, they brought up the point we were both people pleasers.  I’ve never wanted to admit that I am.  But, when I had a chance to process, I had to truly admit it and own it.  I worry that I won’t be accepted, that I’m not doing good job.  That I try and reflect the image of those who are around me, and not the image of God.  Growing up, I always felt like an outsider in social circles; awkward, lonely, and not having many close friends.  This shaped and affected me deeply.  And when I would actually develop good friends, I would want to please them.  Putting up a front and seeking their approval, because I was afraid that I would lose them.

Being aware and admitting this helps me to move forward.  I know it will take time, and as I’m still processing, I pray that God will transform me.  Learning why I do the things I do, and learning to reflect God completely.  To not worry about what others think, but that the only one who matters is God.

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

One thought on “Imago Dei”

  1. This reminds me of a post Randall wrote last month about having to go to therapy as part of his school studies, and learning a lot about himself from another perspective. I’m so glad the retreat went well for you and you’ve taken so much out of it. And thanks for blogging about it so those of us who couldn’t hear that message can learn from it, too. Tonight I will pray for you to know what God wants of you, and I will pray the same for myself.

Leave a Reply

