Disciplines

I admit, I rather suck at discipline.  I find all the excuses in the world to not do a discipline, even though I know fully well that it is good for me.  I’m pretty stubborn and set in my ways, and I find it difficult to upend myself and do major changes.  I get overwhelmed with all that I need to do, that I shut down, and don’t do anything at all.

However, I have discovered that if I do little changes at a time, I am much more likely to move forward to a larger goal.  For example, I’m working on getting healthier, and breaking down what I need to do to achieve that goal, makes it more manageable.  Taking walks during lunch a few times a week, packing healthier snacks and lunches, and drinking more water while I’m at work, are a few of my small goals.

Also, when I do personal disciplines, I am doing something for myself.  Such as going to bed at a decent hour.  When I get enough sleep, I’m much more aware of myself and those around me.  I make better decisions, and react much better to situations around me.  And when I take care of me better, I have more energy to invest in the lives of others and in my relationship with God.  When I’m not focused on God, I miss out one what He has in store for me.  How He wants to change me and mold me.  To be the woman, the daughter, He has intended for me to be.

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

1 thought on “Disciplines”

  1. Hi Joanna, I wanted to leave some encouragement,

    This is really good, this is what’s worked for me too. A discipline is just a habit with a benefit, and persistence about small things is very powerful. When I think about it, just changing course for the better, however slightly, is enough to greatly alter the outcome down the line… it’s not really a matter of how big a thing you’re doing; just the simple act of substituting something positive for something negative makes the lion’s share of the difference.

    I’m convinced that changing one’s psychology is by far the bigger part of the project, it makes doing the rest seem easy by comparison (which is nice). I don’t know if this sounds familiar to you, but for me, there was a hidden worry that I would not recognize who I was turning into, and that my new life would be too strange to me. Thankfully, change takes time, and so I had time to get used to it! One other thing that helped was deciding that my core identity had nothing to do with the negatives in my life; I would not lose myself if I lost them (and it’s true, I feel like the qualities of myself that I value are still there, and thriving on the change in fact!).

    But it still took some time before I got moving. I eventually decided I didn’t want to lose another day toward conforming my life to my hopes. It’s never too late, but when it comes to hopes and dreams it’s also never too soon. And then all that was left was to try out the change, small at first with persistence. And I found that every new day, I felt a little better, and liked being someone who had intentionally changed their own life… I found that inwardly I was growing into that role. Now, I could fall back on the gains I’ve made and I now have something to lose, but I am no longer fearful of this either. Remaining where I was did not give me more security / fulfillment / happiness / confidence than the progress I was enjoying. I could be comfortable in a way being either the old or the new me, but at this point I know which direction I prefer. I feel like I’ve learned a lot about life in the process too.

    And of course, we’re never alone. There are the people around us, standing behind us, and most of all a God who is present himself and who sent others to us.

    Thank you for your blog, it is insightful and encouraging to me also. Blessings on you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

