13. “I’m Proud of You”

About a week ago, a friend of mine had posed the question of what your favorite words to hear were.  As I sat there pondering it, I knew I couldn’t put down “I love you,” even though I do love hearing those words.  Mine was “I’m proud of you.”

I was thinking on why they are my favorite words, and was realizing that growing up, it was one phrase I didn’t hear very often.  In fact, not only until last year, I remember my parents ever telling me that they were proud of me.  They showed it by allowing me to grow up and move out on my own.  Respecting that I was an adult and could make capable decisions.  However, there is something satisfying in hearing the words.

I long to be successful in life and to be affirmed.  I can be proud of myself for accomplishing goals, but hearing it from someone else can be very life giving.  We are meant to live in community.  To be in fellowship with one another.  Affirming each other so we can grow.

What are your favorite words to hear?

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

1 thought on “13. “I’m Proud of You””

  1. I, too, first thought of writing “I love you”, but not because I really thought of it as my favorite phrase — I think it was a spontaneous response that everyone’s supposed to say. Like “what’s the magic word?”

    I was disappointed that I only received a couple responses to that request. I wanted it to spark a discussion, or have 10 diverse comments, at least. (Thanks for contributing to it, by the way! I didn’t see this follow up until now! I think Facebook’s newsfeed and top news features are flawed, and we miss certain posts because there are way too many updates.) I even told one friend directly to help me add comments, but she said the question was too difficult and didn’t know what to say.

    Well, anyway, thanks for helping me wrap up Better Hearing & Speech Month. I still like “I’m inspired by you” as one of my favorite things to hear. And “You’ve made a difference”. I think I like to hear this because I like to feel useful. I think that is the same as you — wanting to be successful and affirmed.

    On the flip side of the same coin, my favorite thing to tell another person is “I’m proud of you”! For example, when a little kid has worked hard on making the correct /k/ sound and eventually says it clearly… I get excited on his behalf and I want to acknowledge his efforts.

    Thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

