7. Cynicism

I keep up with Donald Miller’s blog.  He had a recent post about cynicism and how it holds you back.  Cynicism is something that I have been working on the past few months, and his post really struck a chord with me.  Here is his post:

Leaders aren’t Cynical.  The Character Trait That Might be Holding You Back

Some of the reasons I am cynical are:

  1. I’ve been disappointed before and I don’t want to be disappointed again.
  2. I’m afraid to hope
  3. I don’t want to be hurt again
  4. I’m jealous of where someone else is at in life
  5. I feel guilty

When I’ve been hurt deeply, I tend to become cynical.  Hiding behind that wall, to protect my heart.  Not wanting to be hurt again.  Afraid of what would happen if I opened up and yearned to hope.  I want to stop becoming cynical, because it holds me back from my full potential and keeps me from growing.  To be all that God wants me to be.  And I want to fully hope in the future, for all that God has in store for me.

Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It’s unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don’t have to try.

-Peggy Noonan

Author: graceintherain

I'm follower of Christ learning about life, love, and grace in the rainy Northwest. I love coffee, good conversation, baking, and hanging out with my cat.

One thought on “7. Cynicism”

  1. Good post. I often use my “I’m a journalist” excuse to justify cynicism. But, what’s wrong with a journalist with a little heart? It is good to watch you grow, Joanna, and to grow right along with you. Love ya bunches!

Leave a Reply

